

Minutes of the California Online Branch Board Zoom Meeting

May 11, 2024

Branch Established October 2, 2001

Attendance:

Gail Swain, President

Elaine Johnson, Program VP, Nominations

Randa Blanding, Communications Chair, Website

Kathi Harper, Public Policy for Patrice Lyn

Cathy Foxhoven, Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, Speech Trek, Nominations

Sharon Westafer, Secretary

Absent: Charmen Goehring, AAUW Fund (Excused), Jean Simutis, Treasurer (Excused), Harriet Tower, Book Group (Excused), Patrice Lyn, Public Policy (Excused), Bev Van Citters, Tech SIG (Excused)

Also attending: Tobi Balma, Kirstyn Cogan, Pat Macsata, Shelley Mitchell, Wendy Levine and Winifred Creamer

Total attendance: 12

Gail welcomed attendees at 2:05 p.m.

Program: "Cultural Understanding Through Travel"

Elaine Johnson introduced program speakers Wendy Levine, who spoke about her experiences in Cuba; Shelley Mitchell, who spoke about her experiences in Cambodia and Vietnam; Winifred Creamer, who spoke about her experiences in Peru, and Elaine, who spoke about her experiences in India. The speakers related how travel experiences help us to understand ourselves and others, and how travel contributes to the AAUW mission.

Board Reports:

Gail called the annual meeting to order at 2:55 p.m. Each attendee introduced herself and explained what the hat they were wearing meant to them.

Named Gift Honoree: Sharon Westafer presented Tobi Balma as the branch Named Gift Honoree.

Programs: Elaine Johnson arranged four programs this year plus the program for the annual meeting. The first program was held in conjunction with the Oregon Online branch.

Nominations: Elaine presented the proposed slate of officers for 2024-2025: Gail Swain, President; Bev Van Citters, President Elect; Cathy Foxhoven, V.P. Program; Elaine Johnson, V.P. Membership; Jean Simutis, Treasurer. Gail announced appointed offices: Sharon Westafer, Secretary; Randa Blanding, Communications and Newsletter; Kathi Harper, Public Policy; Alice Labay, website; Hayley

Green, Email list; Cathy Foxhoven and Patrice Lyn, DEI. Harriet would like someone to replace her as head of the book group.

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion: Cathy Foxhoven reported that the group met three times this year and will have three meetings in the coming year.

Public Policy: Kathi Harper, new public policy chair replacing Patrice Lyn, reported on activities for the year and gave an overview of Lobby Day. Eight online members participated. Kathi is working on the School Board Project to support school board members and to encourage people to run for positions on school boards.

Speech Trek: Cathy Foxhoven will be the AAUW CA Speech Trek coordinator for the coming year. She hopes to salvage the competition or use up the money that speech trek currently has. The Online participant, sophomore Nicholas Jung, won fourth place this year. Cathy presented a video of Nicholas giving his speech.

Tech Trek: The branch has three students who will attend Tech Trek virtual camp. Gail and Randa Blanding are working with Mary Isaac.

Tech Group: The group will be discontinued. Members can refer to the AAUW CA website.

Bylaws: Gail announced that the first seven bylaws will change based on changes in National bylaws. Any other changes will be voted on by the branch.

Book Group: Harriet Tower is requesting a replacement. Discussion occurred regarding how the group will proceed.

Gail conducted prize drawings throughout the meeting. Each attendee received a prize.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:50 p.m.

Sharon Westafer

Sharon Westafer, Secretary