## American Association of University Women Online Branch Secretary's Report September 1, 2008 – February 12, 2009

September – November, 2008

After discussion, the Branch voted unanimously to allocate unspecified Branch EF donations to the Lilly/Wustner Fund, and unspecified Branch LAF donations to the Gloria Weston Fund.

During the discussion, Branch membership reviewed the process by which to make donations. While they can be made on line, it appears easier for the Association and the Branch to designate proper credit if the donation is made through the Branch and by mail.

The Membership Committee is planning to take advantage of the Association's Member at Large (MAL) list to recruit new members.

The Branch held extensive discussions about membership participation in the Branch. Issues included use of the Branch blog; use of the Listserv, and use of the RSS Feed. As with other branches, this one has a significant contingent of silent members, but the cause(s) are unclear. Is there a lack of interest among the membership, a problem with the use of the Branch technology, or missed opportunities to market the Branch and its activities. The Board voted to conduct a Branch survey which was completed in November 2008.

President Harriet Tower called for members interested in representing the Branch as a delegate at the Association Convention in St. Louis June 26 -28. The cost is anticipated to be \$450 for the delegate. The delegate must be a primary member of the Branch. Gail Swain was appointed to be the Branch delegate.

December, 2008 – February, 2009

The Branch was saddened by the unexpected death of Letitia Corum, Online Branch member, Martinez Branch member, and AAUW-CA Chief Financial Officer. Members were encouraged to make donations in her memory to AAUW EF, attention: Letitia Corum Memorial Fund #4329. Her biography was posted on the state website: <u>http://www.aauw-ca.org/blog/index.cfm/2009/1/17/In-Memoriam-Letitia-Corum-19352009</u>

On February 6, 2009, Patty Hankins resignation was accepted with regret. Sandy Kirkpatrick, Program Chair, has been appointed to complete Patty's term as Public Policy Chair.

Approximately half of the branch members participated in the survey on branch programs, showing a nearly even split between those favoring listserv programs and those preferring blog articles.

Nominations for EF Named Gift Honoree have been extended to February 15, 2009. Jo Harberson has credited the Branch with \$1500 in EF donations, so the nomination process is now

open. Several members are researching the names of past recipients to avoid duplication. Nominations should be sent to President Harriet Tower.

Many significant changes to the Association structure and way of doing business are proposed for consideration at the Association convention. They may be found at <u>www.aauw.org</u> Members are encouraged to share their views on the Association blog, and especially on the Online blog. Gail needs to know the thoughts of the Branch to effectively represent us.

President Harriet, By Laws Chair Megan Smock, and committee member Sandy Kirkpatrick have reviewed the Standing Rules of the Branch. Their report was sent to the Branch Board on February 11, 2009 and amendments will be presented to the branch membership to be voted upon at the same time as branch officer elections.

Mary S. Leavitt Secretary