## Minutes Summer 2007 AAUW CA Online Branch Board Meeting July 30-Sept. 11

On July 30, Executive Vice President Harriet Tower invited branch members to attend the Summer 2007 branch board meeting, to begin on July 2. In addition to the branch board, Darlene Roach, Faye Dykstra, Janet Watkins, Edith Isidoro-Mills, Pris Mowinkel, Sharon Gomez, Ann Hamilton, Jean Walker, Patricia Toth, Letitia Corum, Margaret McGrath, Donna Clontz, Genevieve Angelides, Mary Jo Weyenberg, and Joanne Brown, Gloria Weston, Linda Seiden, and Shelly Johnson asked to be added to the board meeting group.

President Anne Henke began the meeting with a request that board members brainstorm branch goals for the year. Shortly therafter, she left the meeting and Executive Vice President Harriet Tower conducted the meeting until her return. She also opened discussion on the purchase of software.

On Aug. 2, Sandy Hansen moved that software be purchased to enable our Membership Chair, Gail Swain, to carry out her work with the branch membership database and our website. The motion was seconded. After much discussion, on Aug. 6, Harriet called for a vote on the motion, noting that voting would close Aug. 10. On Aug. 10, Parliamentarian Sandy Kirkpatrick reported that the motion had passed.

On Aug. 2, Harriet began the discussion of branch goals with some suggestions. After several days of discussion, on Aug. 9, the board reached consensus on the following goals for the year:

- 1. Website update
- 2. Membership drive
  - a. develop/implement recruiting strategies
  - b. develop tutorial for new members
  - c. establish presence in other virtual communities
  - d. reach out to other organizations (NOW, NARAL, etc.)
- **3.** Develop a new program with these features
  - a. basis in our mission, focusing on timely topic such as pay disparity
  - b. make use of our unique online elements and attributes
  - c. appeal to young people as well as traditional members
  - d. promote via MySpace, Facebook, etc.
- 4. Evaluate other online discussion venues and virtual communities
- 5. Develop a 5-year strategic plan

On Aug. 10, Tower opened discussion on agenda item #3: How to Instruct Our Members. Membership Vice President Gail Swain volunteered to chair a committee to initially handle the project, defining needs and reporting at the next board meeting. Sandy Kirkpatrick, Mary Rack, and Jeanne Lese volunteered for the committee. The committee will be opened to general branch members so we can take advantage of the BEST expertise in the branch. Sandy Hansen suggested that board members learn how to do discussion through a blog for our next meeting. Mary Rack volunteered to set up such a blog, as we all benefit from learning new skills and more efficient ways to operate. On Aug. 15, Anne Henke called for reports from officers. Sandy Hansen (Recording Secretary), Mary Rack (Program Vice President), Jo Turner (LAF VP) and Caroline Wood (Public Policy) presented their reports. Gail Swain (Membership) and Jeanne Lese (Educational Foundation) had no reports.

As the reports were presented there was discussion of 1) using more blogs in the future, 2) encouraging members to make their online EF and LAF donations through the Association website, 3) the current public policy priorities and mission of AAUW and 4) our state website. It was decided to include the use of blogs and updates to our bylaws/policies and procedures on the agenda for our next board meeting.

On Aug. 27, Treasurer Jean Simutis presented the proposed branch budget for 07-08. After some discussion, the proposal was revised. On Sept. 3, Harriet Tower moved that the revised budget be adopted. The motion was seconded. After an appropriate time for voting on the matter, on Sept. 8, Parliamentarian Sandy Kirkpatrick announced that the budget had been adopted, with 7 of 10 officers voting. All votes were in favor of the motion.

The Budget is available on the branch website, <u>http://www.aauwcaonline.org</u>, in the Members Only area. To view it, log in and click on the Financial Info link.

There you will find this year's budget.

On Tuesday Sept. 11, at 1:45 PM, President Anne Henke adjourned the meeting.

Minutes submitted Sept. 15, 2007 Sandy Hansen, Secretary

Landra Z. Varia